top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFriendswood Reads

Books that made us go hmmmmm!

Updated: Jun 23, 2020



Every so often, a book finds itself onto your bedside table.. a book that comes with no specific expectations aside from looking like it might be worth the time to read it. Every so often these books can wow us in a lasting, meaningful way. Here are some titles that turned out to be so much more than your Friendswood Library staff expected!


Do you have a book that took you by surprise? We'd love to hear about it! Comment below to share.

 

Slammed, Colleen Hoover

"It made me look at poetry in a completely different way!" - Ms. Karen, Assistant Library Director



Rules for Visiting, Jessica Francis Kane

"This book made me pause many times and think about my friendships in the 'real world', in a time when social media so often takes center stage. It made me reflect on how small personal connections make a mark on our lives, and how all these little things together build community. After reading this, I am excited to buy some postcards... and maybe, in time, dust off my little suitcase!" - Ms. Kat, Children's Department



Dog Man, Dave Pilkey

"I know this series is really popular, and it's always checked out...I figured I had an idea of why it is so loved and I wasn't wrong - the story and the art work are great - but there are so many extra things I didn't expect. Literary references and characters that are much deeper than I expected them to be." - Ms. Sti, Children's Department



My Year of Rest and Relaxation, Ottessa Moshfegh

"Self-isolation is a choice made by the main character, which I found intriguing given current circumstances. While so many are struggling with social distancing, this book makes you consider that maybe a little alone time is all you need." - Ms. Emily, Circulation



Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Jeff Kinney

"It captures the funny reality of a tween and their family. It's not the perfect family and it's not the perfect kid, but together they make the perfect example of how funny family life can be." - Ms. Brenda, Children's Department



The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down, Anne Fadiman

"This is a book that surprised me and changed the course of my life. This was the first book assigned in my very first class at the University of Houston – Clear Lake, in an intro to Anthropology class. This book and the discussions we had in the class is the reason I decided to major in Anthropology, which was the most fulfilling education I have ever experienced." - Ms. Lisa, Admin Assistant



Cast Away: Poems for our Time, Naomi Shihab Nye

"It makes you think about how we're excited about things, and then not so exicted after a period of time. This book gives you a sense of appreciating life, and also our environment. " - Ms. Rose, Children's Department




The Hot Hand: the Mystery and Science of Streaks, Ben Cohen

"Wall Street Journal sports writer Ben Cohen explores streaks (think being in the “zone” or the “flow”) across multiple areas including basketball, video game development, and playwriting. I was not a fan of basketball but am now after reading this illuminating, yet playfully written think piece on the nature of winning streaks and performative excellence." - Mr. Dru, Reference Department

74 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page